School of Education and Humanities

Dean of the School:
Name : Prof. Sushil Kumar Sharma
Period of Deanship : 25th April, 2018- 24th April, 2021
Email : This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Phone No. :09436105977/ 09436961337

About Us :
School of Education & Humanities (SEH) came into existence in 2001 with the establishment of Mizoram University. The School so far consists of 4 academic post-graduate departments namely, Education, English, Mizo and Hindi and the lone U.G. department of Philosophy. Out of the four P.G. Departments, three were established before 2001 i.e. before the establishment of Mizoram University.  Education and EnglishDepartments were started in 1979 and Mizo Department in 1997 under the erstwhile Mizoram Campus of North Eastern Hill University (NEHU) at Aizawl whereas Hindi Department was set up in July 2010, nine years after the establishment of Mizoram University.  Each P.G. Department under the School offers M.A., M.Phil. and Ph.D. programmes.  Apart from these, Department of Education runsa Two Year B.Ed. Programmewhich was started from the session 2016-17 and it is in the process of startinga Two Year M.Ed. Programme from the academic session 2018-19 for which NCTE recognition has been obtained.
Department of English was awarded the UGC-SAP DRS I for the period 2011-2016 and has now been upgraded to UGC-SAP DRS II from the year 2016.
Department of English publishes a refereed bi-annual journal having ISSN named Journal of Literature and Cultural Studies.  Mizo Department also publishesa peer reviewed Quarterly Journal named ‘Mizo Studies’ having ISSN – 2319-6041.  Moreover, a national refereed bi-annual journal with ISSN named ‘Mizoram University Journal of Humanities and Social Sciences is published by the University under the chief editorship of Prof. Margaret Ch.Zama, Professor in English Department. 

Name and Designation of the Staff at Dean’s Office:





Caroline Vanlalfeli



H. Vanlalpeki


School Board Member for the Period of Three Years, w.e.f. 18th March, 2017

  1. The Dean, School of Education and Humanities : Ex-Officio Chairperson

All Heads of Departments

  1. The Head, Department of Education, MZU
  2. The Head, Department of English, MZU
  3. The Head, Department of Mizo, MZU
  4. The Head, Department of Hindi, MZU

All Professors in the School:

  1. Prof. R.P. Vadhera, Department of Education, MZU
  2. Prof. Margaret CH. Zama, Department of English, MZU
  3. Prof. Laltluangliana Khiangte, Department of Mizo, MZU
  4. Prof. BanaBihari Mishra, Department of Education, MZU
  5. Prof. LalhmasaiChuaungo, Department of Education, MZU
  6. Prof. Sushil Kumar Sharma, Department of Hindi, MZU
  7. Prof R.L. Thanmawia, Department of Mizo, MZU
  8. Prof. Sarangadhar Baral, Department of English, MZU
  9. Prof. Sanjay Kumar, Department of Hindi, MZU
  10. Prof. Margaret L. Pachuau, Department of English, MZU
  11. Prof. H. Malsawmi, Department of Education, MZU
  12. Prof. Lokanath Mishra, Department of Education, MZU
  13. Prof. K.C. Lalthlamuani, Department of English, MZU
  14. Prof. Lalbiakdiki Hnamte, Department of Education, MZU

Lectures from each Department

  1. Ms. Lalmuanzuali, Department of Education, MZU
  2. Dr. Lalrindiki T. Fanai, Department of English, MZU
  3. Dr. Thongam Dhanajit Singh, Department of English, MZU
  4. Dr. Ruth Lalremruati, Department of Mizo, MZU
  5. Dr. Priti Rai, Department of Hindi, MZU

One Representative of each Board of other School which have inter disciplinary works:

  1. Prof. H.K. Laldinpuii Fente, Department of Psychology, MZU
  2. Dr. Lalnilawma, Deapartment of extension Education and Rural Development, MZU
  3. Prof. Bhartendu Singh, Department of Commerce, MZU
  4. Mr. Vanlalhruaia, Department of Computer Engineering, MZU

Not more Two Teachers of the subject from Affiliated and Constituent Colleges:

  1. Dr. Lalzarmawii, Department of Education, Govt. Aizawl North College
  2. Ms. Zodinsangi, Department of Education, Govt. Serchhip College
  3. Dr. LalrinmawiiTochhawng, Department of English, Govt. T. Romana College
  4. Ms. Jennifer L. Pachuau, Department of English, Govt. Kolasib College
  5. Dr. Zoramdinthara, Department of Mizo, PAchhunga University College
  6. Mr. C. Lalsiamthanga, Department of Mizo, Govt. Champhai College
  7. Ms. Rebecca Lalhmangaihi, Department of Hindi, Govt. Aizawl College
  8. Mr. Hari Prasad, Department of Hindi, Govt. Kamalanagar College, Chawngte
  9. Prof. Vanlalhruaii, IASE, Aizawl
  10. Dr. LallianzualiFanai, IASE, Aizawl
  11. Ms. Emily F. Lalnunpuii, Department of Philosophy, Pachhunga University College
  12. Ms. Vanlalhlankimi, Department of Philosophy, Lunglei Govt. College

Five External Experts:

  1. Prof. K.C. Sahoo, Department of Education, VisvaBharati University, Shantiniketan, West Bengal-731235
  2. Prof. N. Pradhan, Principal, RIE (NCERT), Bhopal, Shyamala Hills, Bhopal-462013, Madhya Pradesh
  3. Prof. GJV Prasad, Centre for English Studies, School of Language, Literature and Cuulture Studies, JNU, New Delhi-110067
  4. Dr. H. Lallungmuana, Rtd. Principal, Pachhunga University College, Salem Veng, Aizawl
  5. Prof. Suresh Chandra, Department of Hindi, Assam University, Silchar-788011, Assam

Click here to download facilities and other details inder the school

Department links under the school:

Department of Mizo
Department of English
Department of Education
Department of Hindi