About Us :
     School of Education & Humanities (SEH) came into existence in 2001 with the establishment of Mizoram University. Till July, 2018 the School was consisted of 4 academic post-graduate departments namely, Education, English, Mizo and Hindi and the lone U.G. department of Philosophy. Out of the four P.G. Departments, three were established before 2001 i.e. before the establishment of Mizoram University. Education and English Departments were started in 1979 and Mizo Department in 1997 under the erstwhile Mizoram Campus of North Eastern Hill University (NEHU) at Aizawl whereas Hindi Department was set up in July 2010. Post Graduate programme in Philosophy has stared in Pachhunga University College which is the constituent college of the University from the Academic Session 2018-19. The Departments of Education, English, Mizo and Hindi offer M.Phil. and Ph.D. programmes along with M.A. Apart from these, Department of Education runsa Two Year B.Ed. Programme which was started from the session 2016-17 and a Two Year M.Ed. Programme from the academic session 2018-19 with recognition from NCTE. Department of English was awarded the UGC-SAP DRS I for the period 2011-2016 and has now been upgraded to UGC-SAP DRS II from the year 2016. Department of English publishes a refereed bi-annual journal having ISSN named Journal of Literature and Cultural Studies. Mizo Department also publishesa peer reviewed Quarterly Journal named ‘Mizo Studies’ having ISSN – 2319-6041. Further, a national refereed bi-annual journal with ISSN named ‘Mizoram University Journal of Humanities and Social Sciences is published by the University. Seminars/ Conferences/ Workshops used to be organized by all departments under the school periodically. The Department of Education is running two centers namely National Resource Centre (NRC) on Research Methodology in Education and Faculty Development Centre (FDC) sanctioned by Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), Govt. of India, New Delhi in favour of Mizoram University from the year 2018.